HD Kumaraswamy sworn in as Karnataka CM amid opposition show of unity

WION Web Team
Bengaluru, Karnataka, IndiaUpdated: May 23, 2018, 06:31 PM IST

Oath taking ceremony of Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy and Congress' G Parmeshwara. Photograph:(ANI)

JD(S) chief HD Kumaraswamy has taken oath as the chief minister of Karnataka on Wednesday in Bengaluru.

After swearing in, Kumaraswamy will have to prove majority on the floor of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly on May 25. 

Kumaraswamy, son of former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, was touted to be the kingmaker before the elections. 

However, situations led him to the post of Chief Minister, despite his party winning just 37 seats. 

Janata Dal (Secular) leader Haradanahalli Devegowda Kumaraswamy sworn-in as the 18th CM of state, repeating the oath after Governor Vajubhai Vala. 

The 58-year-old has become the CM on the second occasion. He had earlier presided over the post in 2006 when the JD(S) had tied up with the BJP. His last tenure, however, lasted for only 20 months.

Senior Congress leader and president of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee, G Parameshwara, was sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Minister. 

The Congress-JD(S) government will have a total of 34 Ministers - 12 from the JD(S) and 22 from the Congress. The Cabinet Ministers will take oath after their names will be finalised.

The entire anti-BJP front, comprising of Congress, JD(S), CPI(M), AIMIM, TDP, TMC, NCP, AAP, SP and BSP, were present at the venue.