4 former bureaucrats among nine new faces inducted in PM Modi's council of ministers

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: Sep 03, 2017, 06:58 AM IST

Nine new faces have been inducted in the council of ministers today. Photograph:(Reuters)

The revamp of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's council of ministers has four former bureaucrats who took oath as ministers in a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The four bureaucrats are former home secretary R K Singh, Delhi's demolition man Alphons Kannanthanam who is known for removing encroachments during his stint as the Delhi Development Commissioner, former Mumbai police commissioner Satyapal Singh and former diplomat Hardeep Puri who was India's permanent representative to the United Nations.

Nine new faces have been inducted in the council of ministers today along with four ministers who have been elevated to the Cabinet rank.

The reshuffle was on the cards as the Prime Minister wants his ministers to deliver on government's policies and schemes geared towards the building of a "New India".

The allocation of portfolios is not clear as of now. 

Three vacancies had come up in the Union council of ministers after M Venkaiah Naidu's elevation as the Vice-President of India, Manohar Parrikar's election as chief minister of Goa, and the death of Anil Dave.

Six ministers resigned from the council of ministers to make way for the new inductees.

Those who resigned are Kalraj Mishra, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Bandaru Dattatreya, Faggan Singh Kulaste, Sanjiv Balyan and Mahendra Nath Pandey.