K Chandrasekhar Rao to be sworn in as Telangana CM on Thursday

Hyderabad, Telangana, IndiaUpdated: Dec 13, 2018, 12:01 AM IST

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao. Photograph:(Zee News Network)

Story highlights

The swearing-in ceremony would be held at the Raj Bhavan at around 1.30 pm, official sources said Wednesday

TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao, who led his party to a resounding victory in the assembly elections, would be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Telangana for a second straight term Thursday.

The swearing-in ceremony would be held at the Raj Bhavan at around 1.30 pm, official sources said Wednesday.

Earlier in the day, Rao was unanimously elected leader of the TRS Legislature Party by the newly-elected MLAs.

The MLAs met at the Telangana Bhavan, the TRS headquarters here, and took the decision unanimously, party sources said.

In the December 7 elections, the TRS won 88 seats in the 119-member assembly, trouncing the Congress-led People's Front, which ended up with a tally of 21.

The police department Wednesday issued a traffic advisory asking the public to avoid the Raj Bhavan road between 12 pm and 3 pm in view of the swearing-in of Rao, scheduled at 1.30 pm, and take alternative routes to their destinations.

The gazette notification by the Election Commission constituting the new assembly was issued during the day.

Earlier, talking to reporters after the TRS legislature party meeting, Rao said he was likely to take oath as Chief Minister on Thursday.

"Would like to take oath tomorrow. It is a good time also. But it is possible only when the Election Commission publishes the Gazette. We will see what happens, by evening", he said.

Rao said he alone may take the oath or with two other colleagues and the ministry can be expanded after 5-6 days.

Earlier, the caretaker Council of Ministers led by Rao tendered resignation to Governor ESL Narasimhan.

The Governor requested Rao to continue in office till the formation of a new government, according to a government order issued by the Chief Secretary.