Assembly bypolls: Congress wins in Karnataka's RR Nagar; RJD wins Jokihat in Bihar

WION Web Team
New DelhiUpdated: May 31, 2018, 02:35 PM IST

File photo. Photograph:(Zee News Network)

Story highlights

In RR Nagar, Congress candidate Muniratna opened an unassailable lead against his JD(S) and BJP rival.

Counting of votes began in 10 assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Kerala, Meghalaya, Punjab and Uttarakhand.

In a new twist, Congress' Miani D Shira won from Meghalaya's Ampati Assembly constituency as the grand old party emerged as the single largest party in the state.


Congress candidate Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam was "elected unopposed" from Maharashtra's Palus Kadegaon Assembly constituency.

In the high profile Rajarajeshwari(RR) Nagar Assembly constituency in Karnataka, Congress candidate Muniratna beat his JD(S) and BJP rivals handsomely even as newly-elected Karnataka chief minister Kumaraswamy conceded defeat.

Muniratna won by 41,162 votes to upset the JD(S) and the BJP.

Lalu Prasad's party the Rashtriya Janta Dal(RJD) won the Jokihat Assembly constituency in Bihar even after JD(U) candidate Murshid Alam led in previous rounds.

Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party(SP) clinched the Noorpur Assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh with Naim-ul-Hasan emerging victorious.




In other constituencies, CPM won the Chengannur Assembly constituency in Kerala. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha(JMM) surprised the ruling BJP in the state to clinch the Jharkhand seat. 

Congress candidate Laddi Sherowalia won from the Shahkot Assembly seat in Punjab.

TMC's Dulal Chandra Das is leading by over 20,000 votes from Maheshtala assembly constituency in West Bengal after the sixth round of counting with CPM second and BJP trailing in third spot.