Agartala: Biplab Deb takes oath as Tripura chief minister
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Mar 09, 2018, 07:11 AM(IST)

Biplab Deb takes oath as the next chief minister of Tripura Photograph:( ANI )

BJP leader Biplab Deb took oath as the next chief minister of Tripura while Jishnu Dev Burman was sworn in as deputy chief minister on Friday. 


Deb is the president of the BJP's Tripura unit and has been associated with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). The 48-year-old completed his graduation from Tripura University in 1999 and moved to Delhi to join the RSS as a volunteer. He also reportedly spent time at RSS headquarters in Nagpur. He returned to Tripura in 2016 to take charge of the BJP in the state.


Deb replaced Sudhindra Dasgupta as the BJP's Tripura unit chief - a decision which received thumbs up from PM Modi and party chief Amit Shah. He and is considered instrumental in turning around the BJP's fortunes in the Left citadel. With a door-to-door campaign and "Chollo Paltai" (let's make a change) slogan, Deb ensured the party's turnaround; he himself defeated CPI-M's Amal Chakraborty in the Banamalipur constituency by a margin of 9,549 votes.


Deb was born in Tripura's Udaipur on November 25, 1971. He is fond of gardening and listening to music.

Elections were held for 59 seats of the 60-member assembly on February 18.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, former CM of Tripura Manik Sarkar, Senior BJP leaders LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and HM Rajnath Singh were present during the swearing-in ceremony of Biplab Deb and others.


Read in App