2655 candidates to contest in Karnataka elections

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: Apr 28, 2018, 10:53 PM IST

Representative Image. Photograph:(Zee News Network)

About 2655 candidates, including 219 women, are contesting elections in the upcoming Karnataka polls, which is heading for elections on May 12.

The results of the state with 224 will be declared on May 15.

The BJP will contest on 224 seats while the Congress will hold elections on 222 seats. The HD Devegowda-led Janata Dal-Secular will contest 201 seats.

The highest number of 39 candidates will be fielded in Mulbagal constituency in Kolar district. Whereas Challakere in Chitradurga will field four candidates, the least number of candidates in any constituency.

A recent data released, shows that in 2013, 3693 candidates filed their nominations for contesting the polls. while this year 3509 have filed their nominations. 

In 2013, 744 candidates' nominations were withdrawn or rejected, while in 2018, 854 nominations have been withdrawn or rejected. 

In 2018, 2436 males will contest the elections as compared to 2788 in 2013.While 219 women will contest the elections as opposed to 170 in 2013.

About 832 candidates registered from unrecognised political parties in the polls in 2013 while this year 800 candidates registered. 

1155 independent candidates will contest the polls as compared to 1223 in 2013.


(With inputs from ANI)