Prime Minister Narendra Modi to address rallies in Karnataka today, to hold six more rallies than planned

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India May 05, 2018, 09.46 AM(IST)

PM Narendra Modi. Photograph:( WION Web Team )

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will carry out four public rallies in Karnataka on Saturday. The rallies will be held in Tumkur, Gadag, Shimoga, and Mangaluru as a part of his campaign blitzkrieg. 

PM Modi will begin the day with a rally at Tumakuru at 11:00 am, followed by three more at Gadag, Shivamogga, and Managaluru at 2:00 pm, 4:00 pm and 6:30 pm respectively. 

Meanwhile, party president Amit Shah will hold five road shows in the day -- in Piriyapattana constituency at 11:30 am, at T. Narasipura (Varuna) at 2:00 pm, in NR constituency (Mysore) at 4:00 pm, Chamaraja constituency at 5:00 pm, Krishnaraja constituency (Mysore) at 6:30 pm. 

The prime minister, who was earlier scheduled to address 15 rallies, will now hold 21 public meetings across the poll-bound state. 

According to reports, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is looking to wrest control from the Congress, may increase Modi's election rallies to 21 from 15.

After addressing today's rallies, he is scheduled to stay back in Mangaluru tonight and will take up campaigning again tomorrow in Chitradurga, Raichur, Jamkhandi, and Hubballi.

As opposed to the earlier schedule, he may also address three public meetings each on May 6 and May 9.

Karnataka BJP president and party's chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa will accompany the Prime Minister in some of the rallies.

Earlier, he interacted with party's Mahila Morcha of Karnataka through the Namo App.

Karnataka goes to polls on May 12 and 2,655 candidates, including 219 women, are in the poll fray for securing 224 seats up. The results will be declared on May 15. 

(With inputs from ANI)