News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Lok Sabha polls: Nishad Party and Janvadi Party (Socialist) join SP-BSP-RLD alliance in Uttar Pradesh

File photo: Akhilesh Yadav. Photograph:( AFP )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 26, 2019, 01.15 PM (IST)

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav on Tuesday announced that Nishad Party and Janvadi Party (Socialist) are now a part of Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-Rashtriya Lok Dal alliance in Uttar Pradesh. 

According to the seat-sharing arrangement, Samajwadi Party will contest 37 seats while BSP will fight on 38. Ajit Singh-led Rashtriya Lok Dal was being considered the third wheel of the alliance. 

Lok Sabha 2019 will be held in seven phases starting April 11, ending on May 19. Uttar Pradesh will cast vote in seven phases. 

On March 8, the Samajwadi Party had released its first list of nine candidates for the Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh, fielding party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav from its stronghold Mainpuri.

The party later announced that SP chief Akhilesh Yadav's wife Dimple Yadav would contest from Kannauj, where she is the sitting MP.

The party has decided to field MPs Dharmendra Yadav and Akshay Yadav from the current seats of Badaun and Firozabad, respectively.