Lok Sabha election result 2019: Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu set to resign

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 23, 2019, 01:33 PM IST
main img
File photo of Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu. Photograph:(ANI)

Story highlights

All parties fought the election on their own without any alliance, unlike in 2014 when the TDP-BJP sailed together.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu is set to resign from the chief minister post as YSRCP decimates the ruling TDP in the state.

With YSRCP leading in 152 of the 175 seats, Jagan Mohan Reddy is all set to become the next Chief Minister of the state. 

In the wake of this massive loss, TDP chief Naidu will reportedly be sending his resignation to the Governor by Thursday evening.


Of the data available for 173 seats of the total 175, the Telugu Desam Party is leading in 29 seats with Pawan Kumar's Jan Kalyan in two.

TDP supremo and Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and YSR Congress chief Y S Jaganmohan Reddy are leading over the respective rival candidates.

Naidu initially trailed by 67 votes but bounced back to secure a lead over his nearest YSRC rival.

The results came as a huge shock to TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, who was not only confident of retaining power in the state but was hoping to play the role of kingmaker at the Centre.

In 2014, the TDP had bagged 102 seats while its then ally BJP had won four seats. The YSRCP had won 67 seats while two independents were also elected.

In the Lok Sabha elections held simultaneously, the TDP had won 15 and the BJP two seats. The YSRCP bagged the remaining eight seats.