Lok Sabha election result 2019: BJP-led NDA sails ahead in vote count backed by north Indian parliamentary constituencies

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India May 23, 2019, 08.47 AM(IST) May 23, 2019, 09.37 AM(IST)

File photo. Photograph:( PTI )

Story highlights

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, a Varanasi candidate, was leading while in Lucknow, Rajnath Singh was leading against Samajwadi Party's Poonam Sinha.

Elections Commission on Thursday began counting of votes polled for 17th Lok Sabha elections today, early trends showed Bharatiya Janata Party leading with 63 seats.

Congress party is currently at 24 seats while others got 8.

As per early trends, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, a Varanasi candidate, was leading against Congress' Ajay Rai, while in Lucknow, Rajnath Singh was leading against Samajwadi Party's Poonam Sinha. See more updates: BJP-led NDA leads in early trends

In Madhya Pradesh, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur was leading against Congress' Digvijay Singh in Bhopal constituency by a margin of 3,105 votes.

BJP's Krishna Pal Singh Yadav is leading by a margin of 1165 votes against Congress' Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna.

Congress candidate Nakul Nath, son of CM Kamal Nath, is ahead of BJP's Nathanshah Kawreti in Chhindwara seat by a margin of 1,520 votes.

In Delhi, sitting BJP MP Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is leading against his AAP rival Balbir Singh Jakhar by 3,319 votes in the West Delhi Lok Sabha seat

Congress candidate Jasbir Singh Dimpa is leading by 721 votes over his nearest rival and SAD nominee Bibi Jagir Kaur from Punjab's Khadoor Sahib seat.

In Maharashtra, Parth Pawar, the grand-nephew of NCP chief Sharad Pawar, is leading in Maval Lok Sabha seat of Maharashtra.

Parth, son of former state deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar, is leading by 1,173 votes over Shiv Sena's sitting MP Shrirang Barne.

In Shirur, NCP nominee Amol Kolhe is leading by 2,890 votes over Shiv Sena's sitting MP Shivaji Adhalrao Patil.

In Himachal Pradesh's Hamirpur seat, sitting BJP MP Anurag Thakur is leading with 3,103 votes against his nearest rival Ram Lal Thakur of Congress.

The counting of hundreds of millions of votes in mega electoral battle began at 8:00 am and final results to be known by the evening.

More than 8,000 candidates were in the fray for 542 seats across the nation. Over 60 per cent of the 90.99 crore electors had cast their vote in the seven-phase elections.

The voting was held in seven phases with the first phase beginning from April 11.

The last phase of voting was held on May 19. 

It is suggested that the counting of votes and the announcement of results may get delayed due to tallying of voter-verified paper audit trail slips with EVM count. The exercise will take place for the first time.

In general elections 2014, the BJP crossed the 272 mark comfortably on its own, without allies, winning a majority of 282 seats - a gain of 166 compared to the previous general election. 

The Indian National Congress of the UPA could only manage 44 seats, suffering one of its worst defeats ever. 

Watch: Analysis of Impact of early trends on the big battles

(With inputs from agencies)

Read in App