Indian Wells: Xu Yifan, Yang Zhaoxuan crowned women's doubles champions, claim first WTA Tour title

California, USA Updated: Mar 20, 2022, 03:30 PM(IST)

The Chinese pair, battled through two very close sets to seal the victory. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

Xu Yifan and Yang Zhaoxuan claimed their maiden doubles team title on Saturday at the Indian Wells, topping the American-Japanese duo of Asia Muhammad and Ena Shibahara, 7-5, 7-6(4) in the women’s doubles final.

The unseeded duo of Xu Yifan and Yang Zhaoxuan won their first WTA Tour title as a team here at the Indian Wells Open on Saturday, edging past seventh seed Asia Muhammad of the United States and Ena Shibahara of Japan 7-5, 7-6(4) to clinch the Women's doubles title.

The Chinese pair, battled through two very close sets to seal the victory at the WTA 1000 event in a match that lasted for an hour and 43 minutes.

In the first set Muhammad and Shibahara, jumped to take a 5-2 lead, but the unseeded duo Xu and Yang made a brilliant come back to win the set 7-5.

The second set was tight as Xu Yifan and Yang could not convert two break points which would have given them a 5-4 lead and a chance to serve for the match.

ALSO READ: Lakshya Sen joins Prakash Padukone, Saina Nehwal in elite list after reaching All England Open final

In the next game, Xu volleys erased two set points as the set moved to 5-5 again.

In the tie-break, the Chinese team jumped to take a 6-3 lead and triple championship point.

A strong Muhammad took care of one championship point, but on the second, one final Xu's winner clinched the title.

Read in App