Wishes pour in as Indian cricketer MS Dhoni turns 38

WION Web Team
New Delhi, India Published: Jul 07, 2019, 01:06 PM(IST)

Virender Sehwag (L), MS Dhoni (C), VVS Laxman (R). Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

Dhoni's wife Sakshi shared a picture of Dhoni with herself and their daughter Ziva with a caption, 'Happy Bday'

Indian wicket-keeper and former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has 38 today and wishes started pouring in from his family, friends and fans from across the world. 

Dhoni's wife Sakshi shared a picture of Dhoni with herself and their daughter Ziva with a caption, "Happy Bday". 

Former cricketers Virender Sehwag and VVS Laxman tweeted special messages to wish the Dhoni, who is also popular as "Captain Cool". 

Sehwag called Dhoni a wonder in the cricketing world and posted a unique message while Laxman wished him luck, love and success. 

In pics: A look back at seven match-winning knocks by Mahendra Singh Dhoni

"7 continents in the World, 7 days in a week, 7 colours in a rainbow, 7 basic musical notes7 chakras in a human being, 7 pheras in marriage, 7 wonders of the world, the 7th day of the 7th month- Birthday of a wonder of the cricketing world # HappyBirthdayDhoni. May God Bless You," Sehwag tweeted. 

"Wishing @msdhoni all the very best in life. Luck, Love and Success #HappyBirthdayDhoni," former Indian cricketer VVS Laxman tweeted.


"Happy birthday Mahi bhai.Thanks for always being there as a mentor as a brother as a friend. Have more success in life always @mahi7781," Indian wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant wrote on Instagram. 

"Wishing @msdhoni another fantastic year ahead," Indian women cricketer Mithali Raj tweeted. 

"Happy Birthday Mahi Bhai! #InspirationToAll," Indian all-rounder Vijay Shankar tweeted.


Dhoni has led India to the number one ranking in both Test and ODI formats and also won all major cricketing accolades that one can achieve during their playing stint. 

He is the only international captain to have won ICC 50-over World Cup, T20 World Cup and Champions Trophy. 

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings team won three titles in Indian Premier League (IPL). 

Read in App