ENG vs NZ 5th ODI: England bowlers restrict New Zealand to 223

WION Web Team
Christchurch, New Zealand Published: Mar 10, 2018, 01:12 AM(IST)

FIle photo of England cricket team. Photograph:( AFP )

New Zealand set a target of 223 against England in the 5th and decider match of the 5-match ODI series at Hagley Oval, Christchurch on Saturday. Earlier, England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bowl. New Zealand started off very poorly as the opener Colin Munro lost his wicket to Chris Woakes in the first over itself.

Martin Guptill scored 47 runs for the team but lost his wicket as immense pressure was building up on him because New Zealand kept losing wickets from the other end.

Henry Nicholls tries to salvage the Blackcaps and found a determined ally in Mitchell Santner but lost his wicket after scoring 55 crucial runs.

Santner, who rescued New Zealand in the first match, hit a personal best 67.

Mark Wood bowled Kane Williamson for 14 before spinners Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali stepped up to decimate the middle of the New Zealand innings.

Rashid, who finished with three for 42, accounted for Tom Latham (10), Martin Guptill (47) and Colin de Grandhomme (six).

Chris Woakes emerged as the most economical of the England bowlers finished with three for 32 off his 10 overs.

New Zealand suffered a major blow before the start of final ODI as their star batsman Ross Taylor has been ruled out due to a thigh injury.

Taylor scored an unbeaten 181 to inspire his side to a five-wicket win in the fourth game in Dunedin that levelled the series at 2-2 on Wednesday.

Taylor has been replaced by Mark Chapman and England has made another change by bringing opening batsman Alex Hales in for the injured Jason Roy.


Playing XI:

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Mark Chapman, Tom Latham (wk), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

England: Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Tom Curran, Mark Wood

Read in App