1st ODI: Aaron Finch's ton help Australia set target of 305 for England

WION Web Team
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia Updated: Jan 14, 2018, 07:59 AM(IST)

Australia's Aaron Finch celebrates scoring his century against England. Photograph:( AFP )

The first one-day international match between England and Australia is underway at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Australia scored 304 at the loss of 8 wickets in 50 overs after England won the toss and chose to bowl.

Australian opener Aaron Finch slammed another century (107), helping his team set such a mammoth target. However, David Warner lost his wicket in the second over itself, which was a big blow to Australians.

Mitchell Marsh (50), Marcus Stoinis (60) and Tim Paine (27) contributed well with their bats for the team.

Aaron Finch found a determined ally in Mitchel Marsh and together they contributed 118 runs for the team.

England Spinner Adil Rashid took two wickets and rest of the bowlers got one wicket each. Rashid dismissed skipper Steve Smith at 23.

England's bowlers got wickets but failed to slow down opponent's run rate.

Fall of wickets:

1-10 (David Warner, 1.5 over), 2-58 (Steve Smith, 10.5 over), 3-78 (Travis Head, 13.6 over), 4-196 (Aaron Finch, 35.2 over), 5-205 (Mitchell  Marsh, 37.2 over), 6-285 (Marcus Stoinis, 47.1 over), 7-296 (Tim Paine, 49.2 over), 8-300 (Pat Cummins, 49.5 over).


Recently, Australia completed a massive 4-0 win in the Ashes Test series. The five one-day match series is a chance for the English to salvage some cricket pride.

England captain Joe Root handed over the leadership duties to Eoin Morgan and play with two spinners Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid along with pacers Chris Woakes, Mark Wood and Liam Plunkett.

On the other hand, fast bowler Andrew Tye debuts for Australia.


Australia - David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith (capt), Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye.

England - Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood.

Read in App