Congress's G Parameshwara to be sworn in as Karnataka deputy CM

WION Web Team
Bengaluru, Karnataka, IndiaUpdated: May 22, 2018, 07:55 PM IST
main img
Congress's G Parameshwara. ( Photograph:(Twitter)

Congress leader and president of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee, G Parameshwara will take oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka on May 23.

Karnataka chief minister-designate H D Kumaraswamy said, “Congress's G Parameshwara to be Karnataka deputy chief minister, will be sworn in tomorrow.”

Janata Dal-Secular state chief H D Kumaraswamy will swear-in as the chief minister of Karnataka tomorrow at 4:30 pm.

Parameshwara won election from Koratagere constituency in Tumakuru district by defeating JD(S) candidate Sudhakar Lal making it his fifth victory in state elections.

According to Karnataka Congress' official website, former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi had seen potential in Parameshwara when he had visited Tumkur. Parameshwara was first appointed as KPCC joint secretary.

Parameshwara has been the KPCC president for eight years now. He was appointed as KPCC president on October 27, 2010.

He has been elected to the Karnataka Assembly four times. He has represented Madhugiri in 1989, 1999 and 2004, and Koratagere in 2008.