ISL 2021-22: Vikram Pratap Singh strikes twice as Mumbai City FC thrash ATK Mohun Bagan 5-1

Panaji, IndiaUpdated: Dec 02, 2021, 03:36 PM IST

ISL:Mumbai City thrash Mohun Bagan 5-1 Photograph:(IANS)

Story highlights

Mumbai City FC is at the top of the points table whereas ATK Mohun Bagan is at fourth after three matches.

Defending champions Mumbai City FC beat ATK Mohun Bagan 5-1 in a repeat of last season's final in the 2021-22 Indian Super League (ISL) at the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda on Wednesday.

Vikram Pratap Singh (4', 25'), Igor Angulo (38'), Mourtada Fall (47'), Bipin Singh (52') scored for the title-holders. David Williams (60') came off the bench to score a consolation.

Antonio Lopez Habas retained trust in the same set of players that won bragging right in the Kolkata derby over the weekend.

Mumbai City, who were subjected to a 3-1 loss to Hyderabad FC on the same day, made two alterations. Mandar Rao Dessai started at left-back as Vikram assumed Raynier's place on the right-wing.

Young Vikram took less than four minutes to repay the faith Des Buckingham put on him. The pacy forward was at the right position when a square pass from Bipin Singh went through a defender`s leg and Vikram shot the first time into the net, nutmegging goalkeeper Amrinder Singh.

The wave of attacks remained relentless. The ATKMB defence had no answers when another bit of build-up play from the left saw Bipin's delivery tapped home by Vikram on the second time of asking as he slid in, almost colliding with Amrinder.

Bagan's sorry state of affairs was highlighted by their zero shots on target in the first half. The city was not done as Mandar's cross was laid down by Fall inside the box and the dangerous marksman Angulo had no trouble guiding the ball into the net, putting his side three to the good before the break.

With Deepak Tangri sent off right after the resumption, City made it 4-0 with Fall heading in a freekick from Jahouh.

While it looked nowhere close to the final but two goalscorers from both sides in last season's showpiece, Bipin Singh and David Williams made their way into the scoresheet before the hour mark.