'Maha Vikas Aghadi' in Goa? BJP ally asks Opposition to come together

WION Web Team Panaji, Goa, India Nov 29, 2019, 12.44 PM(IST)

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut (File photo) Photograph:( ANI )

Story highlights

Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVP) is the name given to the alliance between NCP, Congress and Shiv Sena in Maharashtra. 

A day after Uddhav Thackeray was sworn in as chief minister of Maharashtra, new political alliances are beginning to shape up in neighbouring state Goa too. 

On Friday, Goa Forward Party president Vijay Sardesai urged the Opposition in Goa to come together as they did in Maharashtra. Sardesai's statements came after Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut earlier claimed that Sardesai along with three other MLAs has agreed to form an alliance with Shiv Sena.

"A new political front is taking shape in Goa, as it was formed in Maharashtra. Soon, you will see some magic in Goa," Raut said. 


After Raut's comments, Sardesai said: "What happened in Maharashtra, should be done in Goa too. The Opposition should come together. We met Sanjay Raut. The 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' which was formed in Maharashtra, should extend to Goa too." 


Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVP) is the name given to the alliance between NCP, Congress and Shiv Sena in Maharashtra. 

Raut also said that the party intends to form a non-BJP political front in the country. "It will happen across the country. After Maharashtra, it is Goa, then we will go to other states. We want to make a non-BJP political front in this country," Raut added.

It should be noted that Congress won the maximum number of seats in Goa in the Assembly elections in February 2017. But BJP came to power as it was supported by three MLAs each of Goa Forward Party, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and an independent MLA. 

Congress had originally claimed 17 seats, while BJP ended up with 13 seats in the Assembly elections. However, 12 Congress MLAs later joined BJP, including 10 that joined in July this year led by Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar. 

After 12 Congress detractors joined BJP, Goa Forward Party decided to take back its support from the government as three party leaders were stripped from the cabinet including Sardesai from the post of deputy CM.

Earlier on Thursday, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav took oath as Maharashtra CM as the party stitched an alliance with foe-turned-friends NCP and Congress. Uddhav Thackeray's oath came after BJP's Devendra Fadnavis resigned as CM three days after swearing as his party failed to get majority
support in order to form government in the state.  

(with inputs from agencies)