News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Bharatiya Janata Party MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri files nomination for Karnataka Assembly Speaker

Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri Photograph:( ANI )

WION Web Team Bengaluru Jul 30, 2019, 02.18 PM (IST)

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri on Tuesday filed nomination for election to the post of Karnataka Assembly Speaker.

He was accompanied by Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa.

On Monday, KR Rakesh Kumar tendered his resignation from the post of Assembly Speaker after chief minister BS Yediyurappa won the trust vote in the assembly.

Yediyurappa took oath as the chief minister of Karnataka for the fourth time on Friday after Home Minister Amit Shah asked him to meet the Governor and take oath as the chief minister at the earliest.

The Congress-JD(S) coalition government fell last week after losing the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly. 

Following the defeat, Kumaraswamy submitted his resignation to Governor Vajubhai Vala at Raj Bhavan, along with his cabinet ministers.

Currently, there are 105 BJP members supported by an Independent. Both Congress and JD(S) have 100 members in the 225-member House. The majority mark stands at 104, after 17 MLAs were disqualified by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar under the anti-defection law.

(With inputs from agencies)