IPl 2018: Hyderabad won toss, opt to bowl first against Bangalore

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 17, 2018, 08:13 PM IST

Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson Photograph:(Zee News Network)

Kane Williamson ton the toss and opted to bowl against Bangalore as the two teams clash at M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.

Talking after the toss, Williamson said," "We are gonna bowl. Hard to know how the surface will play, so we'll try and make use of it first with the ball in hand. Hopefully we can restrict them."

"We have one change: Basil Thampi comes in for Bhuvneshwar. Great opportunity for Basil tonight. Hopefully we can adapt to conditions," he added.  

Bangalore, on the other hand, registered two big wins over Delhi and Punjab to save their chances of survival in Indian Premier League (IPL).   

The 10 wicket victory over R Ashwin side brought the Virat Kohli’s team out of nowhere into the play-off contention. 

Talking about their strategy for today, Kohli said,"We wanted to bowl but SRH are not a bad side to bat first against, who bank on their bowling. Would be nice to test their batting with a score on board. We can play with freedom." 

"We will try to do well in whatever we are doing first. It's my 163rd IPL game, so not my first (when Morrison asked if he was nervous about where RCB were). We have been through these times before, so the key is to enjoy," he added.

"There's no reason to think too much now because we have two (consecutive) wins. Another day in life, so just enjoy. We have won two games, so we are playing with the same side. We'll try and replicate the same tonight," the Bangalore skipper concluded. 

Kohli has to defeat table-toppers Hyderabad to save Bangalore in IPL 2018. 


Bangalore (Playing XI): Virat Kohli(c), Parthiv Patel(w), Moeen Ali, AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Hyderabad (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Alex Hales, Kane Williamson(c), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Shakib Al Hasan, Shreevats Goswami(w), Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma, Basil Thampi