IND vs AUS: Bhuvneshwar, Shami strike to dismiss Australia openers, are 38/2 after 10 overs

WION Web Team
Adelaide SA, AustraliaUpdated: Jan 15, 2019, 09:36 AM IST

File photo of India's Bhuvneshwar Kumar Photograph:(Zee News Network)

Story highlights

Bhuvneshwar drew the first blood for his side as he bowled skipper Finch for just 6 runs

Indian pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami on Tuesday struck early to dismiss Australian openers Aaron Finch and Alex Carey respectively, not allowing them to cause much damage with the bat. 

Bhuvneshwar drew the first blood for his side as he bowled skipper Finch for just 6 runs. In the next over of Shami, wicketkeeper-batsman Carey was sent back to the pavilion for 18 runs.

After 10 overs, Australia's score stands at 38 for the loss of two wickets.

Earlier, Finch won the toss and opted to bat first as India take on the hosts in a do-or-die second ODI, in their bid to keep the three-match series alive.

The Kohli-led team lost the first ODI by 34 runs despite a remarkable century and slow half-century by Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni respectively. 

Speaking after the toss, Finch said, " We are gonna bat first mate. Looks like a good wicket to bat, don't think it'll change much throughout. We played a really good game the other day. I think it's a good chance to put some pressure on with a good score. It's always good to play against a world class outfit and improve as a team leading into the next phase of the year."

Dhoni's 51 off 96 balls and failing to rotate the strike has brought to focus the rejigging that skipper Virat Kohli and coach Ravi Shastri will have to fret upon.

With Dhoni being slotted at No 5 even though vice-captain Rohit wants the veteran to bat a notch higher but cues from India's training session made it clear that the team is unlikely to tinker with the batting order.

Talking about their strategy for today, Kohli said, "the conditions are going to be a big factor for us. We were a bit scratchy at Sydney. We can't take Australia lightly in Australia. Mohammad Siraj makes his debut today, Khaleel Ahmed makes way for him."

India (Playing XI): 
Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch(c), Alex Carey(w), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff