Rajya Sabha bids farewell to its five outgoing members

Rajya Sabha. Photograph:( WION )

WION Web Team Delhi Jul 24, 2019, 01.35 PM (IST)

The Rajya Sabha on Wednesday bid farewell to five of its members from Tamil Nadu who have completed six years of their term.

The five retiring MPs are Maitreyan, D Raja, KR Arjunan, R Lakshmanan and T Rathinavel. 

Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu appreciated the five MPs for their contributions in the law-making process and public service.

Meanwhile, outgoing AIADMK MP V Maitreyan broke down during his farewell speech in Rajya Sabha.

At this juncture I place on record deep sense of gratitude towards my beloved leader, Amma (Jayalalithaa) for having immense faith in me & sending me to this House for 3 terms. She gave me the honour of being the only member from AIADMK to have been given membership to Rajya Sabha for three terms. My unalloyed loyalty to her will always be there," Maitreyan said.  


He also expressed his gratitude towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi. "I cannot forget my longtime friend and Prime Minister Narendra Modi whom I know since 90s and I had been a loyal emissary between him and Madam. I sincerely thank him for personal affection for me," he said. 

(With inputs from agencies)