Will JD(S)'s Deve Gowda support BJP or Congress in Karnataka? 'Let's wait,' he says

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 13, 2018, 03:12 PM IST

File photo of former prime minister HD Deve Gowda. Photograph:(Zee News Network)

"I am not prepared to accept or reject anything, let's wait for May 15," former prime minister Deve Gowda said Sunday after exit polls suggested voters have returned a hung verdict in the Karnataka elections. 

The exit polls however give the BJP a slight edge. 

According to the Zee Maha exit poll, the BJP is likely to win 102 seats, the Congress 92, the JD(S) 26, and others, including independents, 2.

That implies no major political party will be able to reach the halfway mark of 113 seats required for a simple majority.

If the exit polls should turn out to be correct, that will leave the JD(S) led by HD Deve Gowda in the position of kingmaker when it comes to government formation. 

That means the the BJP or the Congress will require the support of the JD(S) to form a government in Karnataka. 

Karnataka went to the polls on Saturday. 

The results will be out on May 15. 

"We will get to know the reality" then, said Deve Gowda on Sunday. 

Here is what the major exit poll surveys projected for Karnataka:

- According to the Suvarna exit poll, the Congress is likely to win 106-118 seats, the BJP 79-92, the JD(S) 22-30, and others 1-4 seats.

- According to the ABP exit poll, the BJP is likely to win 97-109 seats, the Congress 87-99, the JD(S) 21-30, and others 1-8. 

- The Republic TV Jan Ki Baat exit poll says the BJP will be the single largest party with 95-114 seats. The Congress is likely to win 73-82, the JD(S) 32-42 seats, and others 2 to 3 seats in Karnataka. In the 2013 Karnataka elections, the Congress had won 122 seats, the BJP and JD(S) ended up with 40 seats each, while 22 seats were won by others and independents.

- According to the IndiaTV-VMR exit poll, the BJP will win 87 seats, the Congress will win 97 seats, and the JD(S) 35 seats.  

- The News X-CNX exit poll survey predicts the BJP will emerge as the single largest party in Karnataka with 102-110 seats, the Congress will come second with 72-78 seats, the JD(S) third with 35-39 seats, while others will get 3-5 seats.

- According to the Times Now-VMR exit poll, the Congress will win 90-103 seats, the BJP 82-93, the JD(S) 31-39 and others 2-4.

Karnataka has a 225-member assembly.