News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

BJP preps for upcoming Assembly polls; names in-charges for Delhi, Haryana, Jharkhand, Maharashtra 

File photo. Photograph:( ANI )

WION Web Team New Delhi Aug 09, 2019, 01.58 PM (IST) Edited By: Sparshita Saxena

Union Home Minister and Bharatiya Janata Party national president Amit Shah on Friday appointed election in-charges for the party for the upcoming Assembly elections in Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Delhi and Haryana. 

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar has been appointed as election in-charge for Delhi Assembly polls. Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri and Minister of State for Home Affairs Nityanand Rai have been named as joint in-charges.


BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav is election in-charge for state polls in Maharashtra. Deputy Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Keshav Prasad Maurya and former Karnataka MLA Laxman Savadi have been named as joint in-charges for Maharashtra Assembly polls.

For Jharkhand, Shah named BJP national general secretary Om Prakash Mathur as the election in-charge. Bihar minister Nand Kishore Yadav will be the joint in-charge.


For Haryana, minister Narendra Singh Tomar is the party election in-charge. Uttar Pradesh minister Bhupendra Singh is the joint in-charge