From Clive Lloyd to Michael Clarke, a look back at Cricket World Cup winning captains

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India May 09, 2019, 03.10 PM(IST)

ICC World Cup 2019. Photograph:( WION Web Team )

Story highlights

Only two captains have won the world cup two times, Ricky Ponting for Australia and Clive Lloyd for West Indies

With just 21 days left for the twelfth edition of cricket World Cup, we take a look at the past captains who have successfully led their teams to World Cup glory and lifted the illustrious trophy.  

Only two captains have won the world cup two times, Ricky Ponting for Australia and Clive Lloyd for West Indies. 

Australia was the first team to win the three consecutive World Cups and is also the only team to win this tournament five times.

Here's a list of World Cup winning captains: 

Clive Lloyd 
The West Indies captain has led his team to lift the World Cup twice.

Sir Lloyd led the Windies to victories in the opening edition of the World Cup in 1975 as well as the following World Cup in 1979. 

Kapil Dev
Captain of the Indian team, Kapil Dev lifted the World Cup in 1983 defeating the mighty West Indies.

India shocked the world under the charismatic captaincy of Kapil Dev, who took the catch of Clive Lloyd that changed the game in India's favour. 

Alan Border
The Australian captain was leading a fairly inexperienced team and they were not considered favourites at the start of the tournament.

But Border's leadership helped Australia lift the World Cup in 1987.

Imran Khan 
Khan led the Pakistan team to their first and only win at the World Cup in 1992.

Pakistan beat England in the final and Khan was the highest scoring batsman for the team.

Arjuna Ranatunga 
The Sri-Lankan team led by Ranatunga won their first World Cup in 1996 playing against Australia.

Ranatunga scored a century in the Final and the winning runs were scored off his bat too.

Steve Waugh
The Australian captain played the innings of the tournament, saving his team an early exit from the Cup.

Playing against South Africa in the semi-finals, he scored 120 after an early collapse of the team.

He went on to lead his team to win the World Cup.

Ricky Ponting
The only other captain to have led his team to lift the World Cup twice after Clive Lloyd is Ricky Ponting.

Under his captaincy in both the World Cups, Australia did not lose even a single match and went on to win unbeaten.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni
India's long wait for their second World Cup ended under the captaincy of MS Dhoni in 2011.

Having led the Indian side to win the 2007  World T20 title, Dhoni now had the experience of four years which showed in the World Cup 2011.

Dhoni's winning six to bring up the victory in the 49th over remains one of the greatest moments in the history of Indian cricket. 

Michael Clarke
Clarke led the Australian team to win their 5th World Cup title in 2015.

In the final, the Australians took hold of the game early and dismissed New Zealand for 183, before chasing the target easily under the leadership of Clarke.

The captains of the participating teams for the upcoming Cricket World Cup are: 

India -  Virat Kohli

Australia - Aaron Finch

England - Eoin Morgan

Pakistan - Sarfaraz Ahmed

Afghanistan - Gulbadin Naib

Bangladesh - Mashrafe Mortaza

New Zealand - Kane Williamson

South Africa  - Faf du Plessis

Sri Lanka  - Dimuth Karunaratne

West Indies - Jason Holder