IPL 2018: MS Dhoni wins toss, opts to bowl against Virat Kohli-led Bangalore

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Apr 25, 2018, 08.06 PM(IST)

Chennai and Bangalore. Photograph:( WION )

MS Dhoni on Wednesday won the toss and opted to bowl against Virat Kohli-led Bangalore at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.

It will be the first time when Kohli will come face to face with Dhoni in this year's cash-rich tournament.

Talking about his decision to bowl, Dhoni said,"We will bowl first. It (the pitch) looks good from the top, but when you rub the fingers over it, it's slightly wet. Sometimes it affects, sometimes it doesn't. It's a tough ground to defend. We have got equal amount of support (smiles). "

"It's rare, when you come to Bangalore, you don't get this kind of support. It's good, generally it's a good crowd in Bangalore irrespective of which team is playing. It is one of the best stadiums to play in because of the crowd," he added.

When asked if he feels there is any kind of rivalry with Virat, Dhoni said,"I never felt it was about a personal rivalry (on playing against Virat). It's a sport that we are supposed to play in the right spirit."

When asked Virat about the strategy he has for today's game, Virat said,"good to see the mix of yellow and red in the same stadium. Looking forward to a good game of cricket. We just need to focus on one game at a time. CSK have played some good cricket."

"Two teams play well and stay at the top and four others are fighting for two spots. We are in the group of four. We need to keep playing the kind of cricket we played in the last game. We have two changes as well," the Bangalore skipper added. 

If seen the squad of the two teams, then for Chennai Karn Sharma and Faf du Plessis make way for Harbhajan and Imran Tahir, while Pawan Negi replaced Manan Vohra and Colin de Grandhomme is playing in place of Chris Woakes.

Bangalore (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Corey Anderson, Colin de Grandhomme, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Chennai (Playing XI): Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Sam Billings, MS Dhoni(w/c), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir