IPL 2018: Complete list of records broken in 11th season

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 28, 2018, 04:12 PM IST

Chennai players celebrate with the IPL 2018 trophy after winning the final against Hyderabad on Sunday. Photograph:(PTI)

After 60 matches in 54 days, Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Chennai emerged champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018. 

The 'Yellow Brigade' defeated Hyderabad by 8 wickets with nine deliveries to spare in the final. It was Shane Watson's unbeaten 117 that powered the 'Yellow Brigade' to their 3rd IPL title.

Over the course of the 11th edition of the tournament, 19,901 runs have been scored and a total of 720 wickets were taken. 

Here is the list of the all the records broken in this year's IPL

- Fastest fifty: KL Rahul smashed the fastest-ever IPL fifty off just 14 balls against Delhi

-  Youngest player in IPL: 17-year-old Afghan bowler Mujeeb Ur Rahman became the youngest player to feature in IPL.

- Youngest wicket-taker: Mujeeb Ur Rahman is also the youngest wicket-taker in IPL history.

- Aaron Finch became the first to feature in seven different teams.

- Chennai - Bangalore match witnessed 33 sixes, the most in an IPL match.

- Afghanistan star player Rashid Khan became the youngest to play 100 T20s matches. He was also awarded man of the match in his 100th game. 

- Chennai skipper MS Dhoni became 1st player in T20 history to hit 5,000 runs as captain.

- Sunil Narine became the first overseas spinner to take 100 wickets in the IPL.

- Virat Kohli slammed most T20 half-centuries by an Indian. He broke Gautam Gambhir's record.

- Mahendra Singh Dhoni became the first player to captain in more than IPL matches.

- Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma became the first Indian to slam 300 sixes in T20 cricket history.

- Jos Buttler equals Virender Sehwag's record of most straight 50s in IPL

- Sandeep Lamichhane became the first Nepalese cricketer to play in the IPL

- SRH's Thampi became the first-ever bowler to concede 70 runs in an IPL match

- 872 sixes were hit in IPL 2018, most in a single IPL season

- MS Dhoni sets record for most stumpings in IPL. He has effective 33 stumpings.

- Chennai became the first team to enter IPL final seven times

- Dhoni becomes the first cricketer to enter IPL final 8 times

Kane Williamson was awarded the Orange Cap with 735 runs in 17 games played and Andrew Tye walked away with the Purple Cap for taking 24 wickets in 14 games.