Winner of Cricket World Cup 2019 to earn highest prize money in history of tournament

World Cup. Photograph:( Reuters )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India May 17, 2019, 02.34 PM (IST)

The winners of the upcoming Cricket World Cup 2019, which is hosted by England and Wales, will earn a cash award of $4 million. This is the highest prize money on offer in the history of the tournament. 

A total of 10 countries will participate, having one dream in common, clinching one of the most coveted trophies of the sporting world. 

England, South Africa, India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and West Indies are the participating countries. 

The winner will also get a trophy that they will lift at the historic Lord's, a statement from the ICC read. 

The runners-up will take home $2 million and the losing semi-finalists $800,000 each at the end of the 46-day tournament being played across 11 venues. 

There are prizes for each league match won, in what promises to be a competitive tournament with the world's best teams playing each other in a round-robin format. 

ICC CWC 2019 Prize Money: 
Winners (1) $4,000,000 
Runners-Up (1) $2,000,00 
Losing Semi-Finalists (2) $800,000 each 
Winners of each league stage match (45): $40,000 each 
Teams that do pass the league stage (6) $100,000 each