IPL retention: CSK returns with Dhoni, RCB retains Virat

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Jan 04, 2018, 02:12 PM(IST)

IPL 2018: Each team can retain five players by virtue of a combination of Player Retention and Right to Match. Photograph:( Twitter )

The window for the franchises to retain players for the VIVO Indian Premier League 2018 season closed on January 4, 2018.

The franchises were eligible to secure up to 5 players by virtue of a combination of Player Retention (Pre-Player Auction) and Right to Match (RTM) (During the Player Auction).

Two-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings, who are returning to the tournament after the two-year ban has retained MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja for IPL 2018. On the other hand, Rajasthan, which is also coming back after the ban has retained only one player, Steve Smith.

Meanwhile, Royal Challengers Banglore have retained Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan.

David Warner and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar were retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Whereas, Mumbai Indians kept hold of skipper Rohit Sharma, allrounder Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah.

Kolkata Nightriders kept two West Indies players, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell.

Meanwhile, Kings XI Punjab looking forward to a complete revamp of the team by retaining only Axar Patel.

Delhi Daredevils trusted Chris Morris over Jean-Paul Duminy by looking at his current form. He was retained along with Rishab pant and Shreyas Iyer. Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting appointed as Delhi Daredevils' head coach.

Read in App