IPL 2018: After flying start Hyderabad restricted to mere 172

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 19, 2018, 10:12 PM IST
main img

Prasidh Krishna (R) looks on after taking the wicket of Hyderabad's Shikhar Dhawan (L). Photograph:(AFP)

Despite getting a flying start, table-toppers Hyderabad were restricted for mere 172 runs by the Kolkata bowlers at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on Saturday.

Shikhar Dhawan and Shreevats Goswami opened for Hyderabad and established 79 runs partnership before Kuldeep Yadav broke the bond. 

Goswami was sent back to the pavilion after making 35 runs off 26 balls.
Dhawan continued the attack to reach his half-century, before being LBW.

Skipper Kane Williamson also smashed 36 runs off 17 balls. His inning included one boundary and three sixes. 

Meanwhile, Prasidh Krishna came out as a trump card for Kolkata as he took four crucial wickets to restrict Hyderabad from setting a massive total.

In four overs bowled, Prasidh gave 30 runs which included two wides also.

Russell,  Narine, Yadav and Searles took one wicket apiece.

Yadav today turned out to be the costliest player for Kolkata as he gave 35 runs in four overs at an economy of 8.75. 

Hyderabad won the toss and opted to bat at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Saturday.

After winning the toss Hyderabad skipper Kane Williamson highlighted the quality of pitch and said that it has grass and it will stay the same that is an advantage for the Hyderabad team.

As expected, Basil Thampi has been dropped as his performance in the previous game was very poor.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Carlos Brathwaite have been included in the squad for tonight's match at the pace of Alex Hales and Basil Thampi.

On the other hand, Dinesh Karthik mentioned that the pitch might turn a bit and there is only change for Kolkata, Piyush Chawla has replaced Shivam Mavi.

Playing XI:

Kolkata: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Javon Searles, Piyush Chawla, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Yadav

Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson(c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami(w), Carlos Brathwaite, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma