West Bengal introduces 7 new districts: Check full list

NEW DELHIUpdated: Aug 01, 2022, 06:14 PM IST
main img
File photo: Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee Photograph:(AFP)

Story highlights

West Bengal new districts: West Bengal CM announces the creation of new districts in her State amidst the expansion of her cabinet. 

West Bengal's Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee announced on Monday that the east Indian state would gain seven new districts, bringing the total to 30. This announcement came after Banerjee decided to expand her cabinet from four to five ministers.

West Bengal CM Mamta Banerjee has introduced seven new districts in her state

These seven new districts have been established to streamline administrative operations in West Bengal. According to a senior government official in West Bengal, "the decision was made to ensure smooth administrative operations."

Is there any need to add seven new districts in West Bengal?

If this move is viewed through a political lens, Banerjee's TMC party would like to create more districts in order to reach a larger audience. The formation of new districts is intended to provide an electoral dividend to the current ruling party. It would allow the party to become more region-specific and focused. The establishment of new districts will also aim to improve law and order in the state, as the Mamta-led government is frequently chastised by the opposition party for its poor handling of the law and order situation.

The following are the seven new districts established in West Bengal

(1): Berhampore (2):Jangipur (3): Sundarban (4): Bashirhat (5): Ichamati (6): Ranaghat (7): Bishnupur 

Here is the full list of districts in West Bengal:

New districts

New districts
New districts

New districts