Lok Sabha polls: Congress returns the favour, leaves seven seats for SP-BSP combine in Uttar Pradesh 

File photo: Raj Babbar Photograph:( Zee News Network )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 17, 2019, 05.56 PM (IST)

Returning the favour to SP-BSP coalition, Congress party on Sunday left seven seats vacant for  SP, BSP and RLD in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, reported news agency ANI. 

''We are leaving seven seats vacant for SP, BSP and RLD.These include Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and whatever seats Mayawati and RLD's Jayant and Ajit Singh contest from,'' Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Raj Babbar was quoted as saying. 

Earlier, while announcing the seat-sharing agreement in Uttar Pradesh, SP-BSP combine said they will not be contesting from Amethi and Rae Bareli -- constituencies of Congress president Rahul Gandhi and former Congress president and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi. 


Congress also gave Gonda and Pilibhit seats to one of its allies Apna Dal. 

The alliance between the Congress and Apna Dal was finalised at a meeting in Delhi, where Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Jyotiraditya Scindia finalised the deal in the presence of Apna Dal president Krishna Patel and party general secretary Pankaj Niranjan Singh Chandel.

Babbar further said Congress party had reached an agreement on seven seats with Jan Adhikar party (JAP). Out of those seven, JAP will fight in five and while Congress will contest from two seats, he added. 

''We had talked to Mahan Dal earlier. They had said they were fine with whatever seats we give them, all they wanted was to contest Vidhan Sabha election. For Lok Sabha elections they had said they'll contest on our symbol. We'll find out a way to work with them.

Story highlights

Earlier, while announcing the seat-sharing agreement in Uttar Pradesh, SP-BSP combine said they will not contest from Amethi and Rae Bareli -- constituencies of Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi