Motor racing: Formula One statistics for the Brazilian Grand Prix

São Paulo, State of São Paulo, Brazil Updated: Nov 07, 2018, 03:19 PM(IST)

A file photo of Lewis Hamilton. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Story highlights

Hamilton has already clinched his fifth world championship, doing so in Mexico with two races to spare. 

Statistics for Sunday's Brazilian Formula One Grand Prix at Sao Paulo's Interlagos circuit:

Lap distance: 4.309km. Total distance: 305.909km (71 laps)
2017 pole: Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes One minute 08.322 seconds.
2017 winner: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari
Race lap record: Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull 2017, 1:11.044.
Start time: 1710GMT (1510 local)


Lewis Hamilton has already clinched his fifth world championship, doing so in Mexico with two races to spare. 

The Briton is only the third driver to win five titles, after the late Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio and Michael Schumacher.

Mercedes can now clinch their fifth successive constructors` championship -- something previously achieved only by Ferrari (1999-2004).

The team are 55 points ahead of Ferrari, who must outscore the reigning champions by 13 points at Interlagos to keep the title battle open until Abu Dhabi.


Three of the current drivers have won in Brazil: Vettel (2010, 2013, 2017), Raikkonen (2007), Hamilton (2016).

Brazil has been on the calendar since 1973, starting at Interlagos before moving to Rio de Janeiro and then returning to Sao Paulo. The circuit is named after the late Jose Carlos Pace.

Hamilton clinched his first title in Brazil in 2008.

Pole position has translated into victory 13 times in 35 races in Brazil. McLaren have a record 12 wins in Brazil, eight at Interlagos. Jenson Button's 2012 win there remains the team`s most recent victory.

There is no Brazilian driver on the starting grid at present.


Hamilton has nine wins this season to Vettel`s five. Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen have two each and Ferrari`s Kimi Raikkonen one.

Hamilton has 71 victories from 227 races and is second in the all-time list behind seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher (91). Vettel, third on the all-time list, has 52.

Ferrari have won 235 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 85 and Red Bull 59. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 81 career poles, Vettel 55.

Verstappen, who turned 21 at the end of September, has two chances left to become the youngest ever pole sitter. The current youngest is Vettel, who did it at 21 years and 72 days.


Hamilton has 132 career podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 110, Raikkonen 102.

Mercedes' Valtteri Bottas has had seven second-place finishes this season.


Every driver on the starting grid has scored this season.


Mercedes are one pole position away from their 100th in Formula One

Read in App