News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

India vs Australia, ODI: Dinesh Karthik dropped, KL Rahul recalled

File photo of KL Rahul. Photograph:( AFP )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Feb 15, 2019, 04.16 PM (IST)

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik has been dropped from India's One-Day International (ODI) squad while batsman KL Rahul has returned to both ODI and T20 International squads for the home series against Australia. 

KL Rahul has been called back after the unsavoury comments on women in a TV talk show, following which he was asked to regain his form by concentrating on domestic cricket. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced the 15-member squad on Friday for upcoming India vs Australia series for both T20 and ODI format. 

India and Australia will play two T20Is and five ODI matches and the tournament will kick off from February 24. 

Khaleel Ahmed, Shubhman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammad Siraj - all of whom were part of the squad in the recent tour of New Zealand, have also been left out. 

The 21-year-old Markande was rewarded soon after his five-wicket haul, which powered India A to an innings and 68-run victory over England Lions in the second unofficial Test. 

The pace attack includes Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami; Bhuvneshwar Kumar will join the squad from the third ODI onwards. Bhuvi has been rested for the first two ODIs. 

Kuldeep Yadav has been dropped from the T20 squad but he will return to ODI with his spin action. 

Rishabh Pant has found a place in both the squads. 

India’s squad for 1st and 2nd ODI against Australia: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohamed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Siddharth Kaul, KL Rahul. 

India’s squad for remaining three ODIs: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant. 

India's squad for T20I series against Australia: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande.