News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Bypoll date for Rajasthan's Ajmer, Alwar and WB's Uluberia announced

The counting will take place on February 1.? Photograph:( Zee News Network )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Dec 28, 2017, 12.42 PM (IST)

Byelections for three Lok Sabha seats - Ajmer and Alwar in Rajasthan and WB's Uluberia - and for two assembly constituencies -Mandalgarh in Rajasthan and Noapara in West Bengal - to be held on January 29, 2018. 

The counting will take place on February 1. 

The Election Commision announced the byelection date on Thursday in Delhi.


Ajmer is Sachin Pilot former Lok Sabha constituency that he lost to Sanwarlal Jat in the 2014 general elections. 

Ajmer bypoll was necessitated following the death of Sanwarlal Jat's demise. 

In Alwar, the Congress has a strong candidate in Jitendra Singh, a former parliamentarian. While the party has not formally declared a candidate, Singh is already participating in chaupals and late-night meetings.

The CPI and CPM are also likely to support Singh to topple the BJP. The seat fell vacant after the demise of sitting BJP MP Mahant Chandnath.