Indian National Congress: The oldest party of India

During the last four years, the stature of the Congress party has declined drastically. Once a pan India party, the Congress, is now reduced to just five states and one union territory in the country. As of March 2019, the party is in power in Karnataka (in an alliance with the JDS), Punjab, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Puducherry (in an alliance with the DMK).