Virat Kohli to Yash Dhull: Indian captains who have lifted the U-19 World Cup trophy

Updated: Feb 06, 2022, 09:22 PM(IST)

Yash Dhull-led India U-19 team defeated England by 4 wickets in the final of the ICC U-19 World Cup 2022 on Saturday to lift the elusive trophy. India has now won the title a record-extending five times. Here is a look at all the Indian captains who have lifted the U-19 World Cup trophy so far.

Mohammad Kaif | Photo - BCCI |

India won their maiden U-19 World Cup title in the year 2000 under the captaincy of former India cricketer Mohamamd Kaif. India defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final after successfully chasing down the target of 179 runs with 9.2 overs to spare. The tournament saw the rise of the likes of Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Venugopal Rao and Ajay Ratra.


Virat Kohli | Photo - BCCI |

India had to wait for a long time for their second U-19 World Cup triumph which came under Virat Kohli in the year 2008. Kohli-led India U-19 team defeated South Africa U-19 by 12 runs via the D/L method in the final to win the elusive trophy. The India U-19 squad consisted of the likes of Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Manish Pandey and Siddarth Kaul.


Unmukt Chand | Photo - BCCI |

Continuing India's dominance at the U-19 World Cup, Unmukt Chand led the country to its third triumph in the year 2012. Unmukt-led India faced Australia in a hih-pressure final. The skipper led from the front with a magnificent ton to help India chase down the target of 226 runs comfortably and regsiter a 6-wiket win to lift the trophy for the third time.


Prithvi Shaw | Photo - BCCI |

Prithvi Shaw became the fourth Indian captain to lift the U-19 World Cup trophy in the year 2018. Under the mentorship of the current India head coach Rahul Dravid, Shaw & Co. thrashed Australia by 8 wickets in the final to lift the prestigious trophy for a record fourth time. Shaw, Shubman Gill, and Shivam Mavi among others were the finds of the tournament for India.


Yash Dhull | Photo - BCCI |

Yash Dhull joined Kaif, Kohli, Chand and Shaw in an elite list of Indian captains to have won the U-19 World Cup trophy after leading India to a memorable triumph at the recently-concluded 2022 edition of the tournament. With the help of Raj Bawa's all-round heroics, India defeated England by 4 wickets in the final to lift a record-extending fifth title on Sunday.


Read in App