Virat Kohli isn't the highest-paid captain in international cricket! - Check full list of skippers and salaries in 2021

Written By: Amartya Sharma | Updated: Jun 04, 2021, 07:08 PM IST

When it comes to the list of highest-paid cricket captains around the world, Virat Kohli's name immediately pops up on top of the list. However, to your surprise, it is not Virat Kohli. To find out the highest-paid captain in the world, take a look at the list below: 

Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera (Sri Lanka)

Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera lead the Sri Lankan team in Tests and limited-overs respectively. While Karunaratne earns annual salary of $70,000 (INR 51.03 lakh), Kusal Perera earns $35,000 (INR 25 lakh) per year.  


Babar Azam

Pakistan captain Babar Azam is emerging as one of the top batsmen in the world of cricket. The 27-year-old earns INR 62.40 lakh approximately annually.


#6 Kieron Pollard and Kraigg Brathwaite (West Indies)

Kieron Pollard and Kraigg Brathwaite lead the West Indies' contingent in limited-overs and Tests respectively. Pollard receives an annual salary of $250,000 (₹1.73 crores), whereas, Brathwaite receives $200,000 (₹ 1.39 crores) per year. 


Kane Williamson

Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson leads the Black Caps from the front. He earns an annual salary of $440,000 (INR 1.77 crore) from the board and including a bonus of $40,000 as he leads the team. 


#4 Dean Elgar and Temba Bavuna (South Africa)

Proteas Test skipper Dean Elgar and limited-over captain Temba Bavuna earn a yearly salary of $450,000 (INR 3.2 crore) and $350,000 (INR 2.5 crore) respectively.  


#3 Aaron Finch and Tim Paine (Australia)

Australian captains are among the highest paid cricketers in the world. Aaron Finch the limited-overs side, whereas, Tim Paine leads the Test outfit for the Aussies. Both captains earn $1 million as yearly salary by Cricket Australia.


Virat Kohli

Many expect skipper Virat Kohli to be on top of such lists as BCCI is regarded as the richest cricket board. However, to everyone's surprise, Virat Kohli comes on the second spot with an annual salary of INR 7 crore. The prolific batsman comes in BCCI's top category (A+) in terms of central contracts. 


#1 Joe Root and Eoin Morgan (England)

England's Test captain Joe Root leads the list with a staggering annual salary of £870,000 (INR 8.97 crore) from the England Cricket Board (ECB). Limited-overs skipper Eoin Morgan earns £170,000 yearly (INR 1.75 crore).