Star power in 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, several popular faces from the Film and Cricket fraternity joined different political parties. Here's taking a look at the same.

Isha Koppikar

Actor Isha Koppikar joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in January as the working president of the Women Transport Wing.

However, no official announcement has been made yet regarding her contesting the Lok Sabha.


Urmila Matondkar

Bollywood actor Urmila Matondkar joined the Congress on March 27.

She has been fielded by the party from Mumbai North Lok Sabha constituency which is considered as a BJP stronghold.


Gautam Gambhir

Former Cricketer Gautam Gambhir joined the Bhartiya Janta Party on March 22.


Dinesh Lal Yadav 'Nirahua'

Following the footsteps of Bhojpuri actors Manoj Tiwari and Ravi Kishan, another popular actor-singer Dinesh Lal Yadav aka Nirahua joined the Bhartiya Janta Party on March 27 ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha.


Kamal Haasan

Actor Kamal Haasan made a recent entry into politics with his party Makkal Needhi Maiam.

He has launched a campaign trail for the Lok Sabha election and bypolls to Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu.


Shatrughan Sinha

Following years of conflict with the Bharatiya Janata Party, former actor Shatrughan Sinha has finally decided to leave the BJP.

He is expected to join the Congress and to contest the Patna Sahib constituency from Bihar against Ravi Shankar Prasad.


Jaya Prada

Veteran actress and politician Jaya Prada, who was previously with the Samajwadi Party (SP), joined the BJP on March 26. 

Jaya Prada had started her political career with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 1994.



Mimi Chakraborty

Bengali actress Mimi Chakraborty joined the Trinamool Congress in West Bengal. She has been nominated from the Jadavpur Lok Sabha seat.


Read in App