Lok Sabha elections 2019: A look at young chief ministers of India

A quick look at the youngest chief ministers of India ahead of the Lok Sabha polls.

Arvind Kejriwal

An anti-corruption crusader, bureaucrat-turned-politician Arvind Kejriwal shot to limelight at a movement launched in Delhi during the second tenure of Congress-led UPA government by a group of activists led by Anna Hazare. Despite the support of the large number of people, the movement failed to convince the government for the Lokpal Bill. After the failure of the movement, a section of the group led by Arvind Kejriwal decided to enter politics and formed the Aam Aadmi Party.

In 2013, AAP contested in all 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly election and managed to win 28. Kejriwal himself defeated incumbent CM Sheila Dixit in the New Delhi constituency. He became the chief minister of a minority government at the age of 45, but resigned soon. He took oath as chief minister again after his party won the Delhi Assembly election in 2015.


Yogi Adityanath

Yogi Adityanath is a monk-turned-politician who became the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh in March, 2017, at the age of 45. He became a Member of Parliament from Gorakhpur, in eastern Uttar Pradesh, in 1998 and went on to represent it for five consecutive times. Born in 1972, Yogi Adityanath embraced the life of an ascetic in 1994.



Devendra Fadnavis

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis


Pramod Sawant

From being an Ayurveda practitioner to being the Goa chief minister, 46-year-old Pramod Sawant has come a long way. The two-time MLA from Sankhalim in North Goa, Sawant, who was Speaker of the state Assembly, is a dedicated RSS worker.

Sawant's political career began in the BJP as a youth leader. A staunch supporter of Manohar Parrikar, he had worked closely with the late leader. He won the 2012 and 2017 Assembly elections from North Goa's Sankhalim constituency, which used to be a Congress stronghold.


Pema Khandu

Pema Khandu is the current chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh. Son of late Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu, the 40-year-old graduate from Delhi's Hindu College had an early entry into governance after his father's demise in a chopper crash 2011.

Khandu, who hails from Tawang, bordering China, first entered the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly from Mukto (ST) constituency to fill the vacancy caused by his father's death. He was re-elected unopposed in 2014 elections. Khandu has served as Minister for Water Resource Development and Tourism.


Biplab Deb

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb had humble beginnings. Born in a middle-class family at Rajdhar Nagar village in Gomati district on 25 November, 1971, Biplab Deb completed his graduation from Udaipur College in the state in 1999. His father Haradhan Deb was a local leader of the Jan Sangh.

Biplab Deb left for Delhi soon after his graduation to join the RSS. He served the RSS for around 16 years before returning to Tripura where he assumed the charge of Central Jan Sampark Pramukh for the BJP. Biplab Deb was declared the state president of the BJP on 6 January, 2016. He replaced Sudhindra Dasgupta, the longest-serving chief of the party in Tripura.