Lok Sabha polls: A look at Bollywood entries in Indian politics

Here's taking a look at the popular Bollywood entries in Indian politics.

Amitabh Bachchan-Jaya Bachchan

Amitabh Bachchan's political career has been very short lived. He entered politics in support with his long-time family friend Rajiv Gandhi. After winning against HN Bahuguna in 1984 Lok Sabha by one of the highest vote margins in general elections history, he left politics mid-way. 

During the years of his financial crisis, he was helped by his friend Amar Singh. Following this, he started supporting the Samajwadi Party. His wife Jaya Bachchan later joined the Samajwadi Party and represented the party as an MP in the Rajya Sabha.

(Image source: amitabhbachchan)


Rajesh Khanna

Rajesh Khanna had initially been part of Congress' election campaigning before fighting for the Lok Sabha from New Delhi seat in 1991. He, however, lost the election by a narrow margin of 1589 votes. 

He later won the by-election that took place on the same seat in 1992 by defeating Shatrughan Sinha by 25,000 votes.

(Image source: gaanenayepurane)


Kirron Kher

Kirron Kher joined the Bhartiya Janata Party in 2009. She won the Lok Sabha seat from Chandigarh for the General Elections 2014.

(Image source: kirronkhermp)


Paresh Rawal

Paresh Rawal won as the Bharatiya Janata Party's Member of Parliament from Ahmedabad East constituency in the Indian general election, 2014.

(Image source: @SirPareshRawal)


Hema Malini

Hema Malini joined the Bhartiya Janata Party in 2004. Before this, she had campaigned for the BJP candidate Vinod Khanna in 1999 General Elections.

After being nominated by Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, the then President of India, she served as an MP to the upper house from 2003 to 2009.

She was made the general secretary of the BJP in March 2010 and was elected to the Lok Sabha after she defeated the Mathura incumbent in 2014.

(Image source: dreamgirlhemamalini)


Raj Babbar

Raj Babbar has served in three political parties since he entered politics in 1989. Babbar was first the member of Janata Dal, led by VP Singh.

He later joined Samajwadi Party and was elected as Member of Parliament of India three times before being suspended from the party in 2006.

He then joined the Indian National Congress in 2008 and was elected for the fourth term in the Parliament in 2009 after defeating Dimple Yadav.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, he contested from Ghaziabad and lost to BJP's General VK Singh.

(Image sources: @RajBabbarMP)


Vinod Khanna

Vinod Khanna was a member of the Bhartiya Janata Party from 1997. He was elected from Gurdaspur constituency in Punjab in the 1998 Lok Sabha poll and was re-elected to the constituency in 1999, 2004, 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Khanna lost from the same constituency in 2009 general elections.

During his tenure he was also appointed as the union minister for culture and tourism and Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) as Minister of State.

(Image source: real_vinod_khanna)


Sunil Dutt

Sunil Dutt was appointed as the member of parliament for five terms from the Congress party.

His political career suffered a backseat in the early 1990s when he worked to free his son, Sanjay Dutt, who was accused of keeping AK-56. 

(Image source: duttsanjay)