IPL Throwback: List of Orange cap winners!

Indian Premier League has provided platforms to several young stars to leave their mark in the cricketing world. 'Orange Cap' is awarded to those batsmen who score maximum runs in the particular edition of IPL. 

With IPL 2020 set to start from September 19, let us take a look at list of orange cap winners from 2008 edition to 2019. 


Shaun Marsh in 2008

KXIP's Shaun Marsh was prolific in the inaugural edition of IPL. He scored 616 runs in 11 matches.


Matthew Hayden in 2009

Chennai Super Kings' Matthew Hayden was a danger man throughout his career. He scored 572 runs in 2009 IPL.


Sachin Tendulkar in 2010

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar scored 618 runs for Mumbai Indians in 2010.


Chris Gayle in 2011 and 2012

'Globemaster' Chris Gayle consecutively became the highest scorer in IPL in 2011 and 2012 edition. He scored 608 and 733 runs respectively.


Michael Hussey in 2013

Aussie batsman Michael Hussey scored 733 for CSK in 2013 IPL. 


Robin Uthappa in 2014

Robin Uthappa's 660 runs helped KKR win 2014's IPL trophy.


David Warner

The only batsman to win Orange Cap thrice. He scored 562, 641 and 692 in 2015, 2017 and 2019 respectively.


Virat Kohli in 2016

Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in a single IPL edition. The batsman shut his critics who questioned him for not scoring a century in T20Is by smashing four centuries. He scored 973 runs in 2016.


Kane Williamson in 2018

Kane Williamson smashed 735 runs in 2018 edition of IPL. He lead his team to the finals of the cup.