INDvsNZ: India claim their biggest ODI series win on New Zealand soil

Updated: Feb 03, 2019, 06:28 PM(IST)

Rohit Sharma-led team India won the ODI series 4-1 after defeating New Zealand by 35 runs in the fifth and final match at Wellington's Westpac Stadium. 

India wins final ODI series

Indian bowlers rattled New Zealand batsmen to win the fifth and final One-Day International (ODI) by 35 runs at the Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

This victory has made India to end the final ODI series 4-1.


Indian bowlers crush New Zealand batsmen

Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal clinched three wickets, while Mohammed Shami and Hardik Pandya took two apiece.

Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and right-arm off-break spinner Kedar Jadhav also got one wicket each.


Shikhar Dhawan caught skipper Kane Williamson

Kedar Jadhav bowled a low delivery which made skipper Kane Williamson hit a big shot but ended being caught by Shikhar Dhawan before the boundary line.


Shami dismisses Henry Nicholls & Colin Munro

Mohammed Shami provided India with the breakthrough in the fourth over to dismiss opener Henry Nicholls as the hosts chase a target of 253 runs.

Shami struck again to clean bowled Colin Munro for 24 runs. 


2 boundaries & 5 sixes in 22 balls

Ambati Rayadu's patient 90 and Hardik Pandya's 45-run cameo powered India to a decent 252 total.

Pandya faced just 22 balls to hit 45 runs which included two boundaries and five sixes and was caught out while trying to hit a six.


MS Dhoni takes top-scorer James Neesham

James Neesham top-scored from New Zealand but was run-out in the most unexpected but brilliant way by wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni who missed two ODIs due to injury.


Ambati Rayudu lifts India to victory

Ambati Rayudu lifts India after early strikes by slamming a crucial half-century. The batsman was going strong against the New Zealand attack but was dismissed while trying to hit a big shot. 

India's current no 4 was sent back to the pavilion 10 runs short to his century which included eight boundaries and four sixes.   


India to lock horns with New Zealand in T20 series

After clinching the ODI series, India will lock horns with New Zealand in the T20 series, with the first being played on February 6. 


Read in App