In pics: When Bangladesh crushed 'Men in Blue'

For the first time in 2004, 'The Tigers' defeated India, that too at their home ground. Here's a brief history of the matches when India faced blooper against cricketing minnows Bangladesh

26th December, 2004, Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka (Dacca)

December 26, 2004, is a date that holds a glorious history for Bangladesh cricket as for the first time they defeated India that too at their home ground.

In the match, Bangladesh had won the toss and opted to bat. Though they had a crashing start when Indian pacer Zaheer Khan sent a warning by dismissing opener Mohammad Rafique in the first over.

Bangladesh lost 5 quick wickets and they were 88-5 at a time.

But it was Aftab Ahmad who salvaged Bangladesh and helped the team to set a decent target of 229 runs.

For India, the big names, such as Virendra Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni etc did not do much for the team and suffered a defeat by 15 runs.

Mushrafe Bin Mortaza was awarded man of the match for taking two important wickets of Virendra Sehwag and MS Dhoni. He took a catch to dismiss Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly.

(Photograph:WION Web Team)

17th March, 2007, Queen's Park Oval, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad

India might have a record of not losing against cricketing giants South Africa in ICC World Cup but 'Men in Blue' have faced a tragic ouster by 'Bengal Tigers.'

Yes! India was thrown out from 2007 World Cup by Bangladesh. Who would have thought that India will ever lose against such a mediocre team but it was time when the Indian team was not in its best shape.

Political issues and internal problems in the team lead to the disastrous exit.

In the match, India won the toss and opted to bat, and failed badly. Apart from Sourav Ganguly (66) and Yuvraj Singh (47), none of the players scored more than 20 runs. They had set a target of 191 runs.

For Bangladesh, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan scored 51, 56 and 53 respectively to register a historic victory.

Mushrafe Mortaza received the man of the match for taking 4 crucial wickets.

(Photograph:WION Web Team)

16th March, 2012, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka

After World Cup 2007, India defeated Bangladesh for consecutive 8 matches but find out what happened in the ninth clash which was in the year 2012.

In Asia Cup, India faced another blooper when they suffered a defeat by cricketing minnows, Bangladesh.

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bowl.

For India, Sachin Tendulkar finally got the chance to hit the most awaited 100th century. Also, Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina had helped with their bats by hitting 66 and 51 runs respectively to put up 289 on the board.

But the credit goes to Bangladesh batsmen, who outplayed Indian bowling attack and easily chased down the set target to mark a tremendous victory.

Despite hitting a massive century, Tendulkar was snubbed and the man of the match award was given to Shakib Al Hasan for hitting match-winning runs.

In the series, the rivalry of Rubel Hossain and Virat Kohli began.

(Photograph:WION Web Team)

18th June, 2015, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka

In 2011, India had retained the glory of winning the World Cup but failed in the 2015 World Cup as they were ousted after the knock-out matches.

Though Bangladesh was defeated by India in World Cup 2015 but was in the process of revamping their squad.

Just after the World Cup, India was on the tour of Bangladesh to play a 3-match series.

In the first match of the series, Bangladesh defeated India by 79 runs.

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat. For Bangladesh, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar and Shakib Al Hasan scored half-centuries and set the match for their team by putting up a 308 as a target.

In return, India could score only 228 as the batting order failed big time.

The match will always be remembered for the incident when MS Dhoni elbowed debutant Mustafizur Rahman for which Dhoni was later fined 75% of his match fees for his conduct, Rahman too was fined but received the match of the match for his 5 wicket haul.

(Photograph:WION Web Team)

21st June, 2015, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka

In the second match of the series, India against was embarrassed by Bangladesh as the magical pacer Mustafizur was in tremendous form.

India had won the toss and opted to bat but was trashed in front of Bangladeshi new talent, Mustafizur and was all out for 200 in 45 overs.

In response, all top 6 batsmen of Bangladesh helped with their bats to register a series-winning victory.

Image Source: Twitter

(Photograph:WION Web Team)

Read in App