List of winners at FIFA's The Best Awards

 | Updated: Sep 24, 2019, 05:23 PM IST

List of winners at FIFA's The Best Awards ceremony on Monday at La Scala opera house in Milan

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi won the FIFA Men's Player of the Year award as beaten rival Cristiano Ronaldo stayed away from the star-studded ceremony in Milan's iconic La Scala Opera House.

Barcelona striker Messi's victory was a surprise as he edged out Virgil Van Dijk, who won the UEFA player's award last month after helping Liverpool to the Champions League last season.


Megan Rapinoe

Megan Rapinoe beat fellow World Cup winner Alex Morgan and England's Lucy Bronze to the women's prize, with her USA coach Jill Ellis lifting the women's coaching award.

Rapinoe, 34, was joint top scorer with six goals at the women's World Cup and won the Golden Boot, also gaining the Golden Ball for the best player. 


Alisson Becker

Brazilian goalkeeper Alisson Becker won the UEFA Goalkeeper of the Year.

Alisson was named UEFA Champions League Goalkeeper of the Season last month, and also won the Golden Glove awards for most clean sheets in both the Premier League and Copa America.


Sari van Veenendaal

Netherlands' and Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Sari van Veenendaal won trophy for the Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper of 2019.


File photo of Jurgen Klopp

Juergen Klopp won the men's coaching award ahead of two other Premier League coaches -Tottenham's Mauricio Pochettino, who the German beat in June's Champions League final, and Manchester City's Pep Guardiola.


Jill Ellis

Two-time women's World Cup-winning coach Ellis, beat Dutch coach Sarina Wiegman, runner-up in France 2019.


Daniel Zsori

Romanian-born Hungarian forward Daniel Zsori won the Fifa Puskas Award for the best goal, beating strikes from Messi and Juan Fernando Quintero.

The 18-year-old forward, on his debut, scored a spectacular overhead kick to win the game for his side Debrecen against Ferencvaros in stoppage time.