British leaders who were invited to India's Republic Day

Written By: Vyomica Berry | Updated: Dec 02, 2020, 08:12 PM IST

India celebrates Republic Day on January 26 in 2021 to commemorate the implementation of its constitution. The country's government invites a foreign leader every year for the occasion. This year India has invited UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson as the chief guest.

Here is a list of British leaders that have been invited to India's Republic Day:

Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler

Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler who was a prominent British Conservative politician was invited in 1956.

Butler was born into a family of academics and Indian administrators. 

Butler enjoyed a brilliant academic career before entering Parliament in 1929. As a junior minister, he helped to pass the Government of India Act  of1935.


Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip

Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip was invited as the chief guest of India's Republic Day in 1959.

The Duke was by accompanied Queen Elizabeth II during the parade.


Queen Elizabeth II

Queen Elizabeth II tour of independent India coincided with the nation's Republic Day in the year 1961 when she was invited as the chief guest for the occasion by President Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963).


Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten

Chief of defence staff Lord Louis Mountbatten was invited as the chief guest of during India's Republic Day in 1964.

In March 1947, Mountbatten was appointed Viceroy of India and overseen the partition of British India.


Prime Minister John Major

British Prime Minister John Major was invited as the chief guest during India's Republic Day parade in 1993.

At the time Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma was the President of India while PV Narasimha Rao was the country's prime minister.


Republic Day

In the last six years, India has invited the leaders of countries and organisations as the chief guest during the Republic Day celebrations from the US, France, UAE, ASEAN, South Africa and Brazil.