As cases spike, here's a list of countries that have banned travellers from India

India, which is facing a health crisis, is battling a "double mutant" strain of COVID-19. As the Asian nation struggles with a surge in infections, here's a list of countries round the world that have banned travel to and from India, owing to the country's record-breaking rise in Covid cases.  

New Zealand

New Zealand on Thursday temporarily suspended entry for all travellers from India, including its own citizens, for about two weeks from April 11 until April 28 following a high number of positive coronavirus cases arriving from the South Asian country.



Canada's government said it would temporarily bar passenger flights from India and Pakistan for 30 days starting on April 22 as part of stricter measures to combat the spread of the coronavirus.



On 25th April, Italy's Health Minister Roberto Speranza said on Twitter he had signed an order barring foreign travellers who have been in India in the past 14 days from entering the country.



Australia has suspended all direct passenger flights from India until May 15.



According to a Omani state TV report, Oman has barred entry to arrivals from India, along with Pakistan and Bangladesh starting April 24, as part of measures to contain the COVID-19 pandemic.


Read in App