All you need to know about the venues of the Cricket World Cup 2019


 | Updated: May 29, 2019, 11:49 AM IST

The opening match of the World Cup will be played at the Oval on May 30, while the Lord's Cricket ground will host the final on July 14

Lord's, London

Lord's Cricket Ground will host the final of the Cricket World Cup 2019. 

It has a capacity of 28,500. 

Looking back at history, Lord's Cricket Ground is the only one to have hosted multiple finals, those of 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.


June 23 Pakistan v South Africa
June 25 England v Australia
June 29 New Zealand v Australia
July 5 Pakistan v Bangladesh
July 14 Final


The Oval, London 

The opening match of the World Cup will be hosted at The Oval stadium. 

It has a capacity of 25,000. 

The Oval is the first ground in England to host international Test cricket in September 1880. 


May 30 England v South Africa
June 2 South Africa v Bangladesh
June 5 Bangladesh v New Zealand
June 9 India v Australia
June 15 Sri Lanka v Australia


Trent Bridge, Nottingham 

Trent Bridge is considered to be one of the best grounds in the world to watch cricket. It was first used as a cricket ground in the 1830s.

The ground has a capacity of 17,000.


May 31 West Indies v Pakistan
June 3 England v Pakistan
June 6 Australia v West Indies
June 13 India v New Zealand
June 20 Australia v Bangladesh


The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street

With a capacity of 14,000, the Riverside Durham evolved as a significant cricketing venue in 1999, when it hosted two World Cup matches. 

In the World Cup 2019, it will host just three league matches. 


June 28 Sri Lanka v South Africa
July 1 Sri Lanka v West Indies
July 3 England v New Zealand


Headingley, Leeds

Headingley has hosted Test cricket since 1899 and has a capacity of 18,350 spectators.

June 21 England v Sri Lanka
June 29 Pakistan v Afghanistan
July 4 Afghanistan v West Indies
July 6 Sri Lanka v India


Hampshire Bowl, Southampton 

Popularly known as the Rose Bowl, the ground opened a four-star Hilton Hotel with an integrated media centre overlooking the ground. 

The ground has a capacity of 17,000 spectators. 

Indian will start their campaign here against South Africa. 


June 5 South Africa v India
June 10 South Africa v West Indies
June 14 England v West Indies
June 22 India v Afghanistan
June 24 Bangladesh v Afghanistan


Edgbaston, Birmingham 

Edgbaston was the first English ground outside Lord's to host a major international one-day tournament final when it hosted the ICC Champions Trophy final in 2013.

It will host the second semi-final of the tournament on Jully 11. 

The ground has a capacity of 24,500 people.


June 19 New Zealand v South Africa
June 26 New Zealand v Pakistan
June 30 England v India
July 2 Bangladesh v India
July 11 Semi-final 2 - Q2 v Q3


County Ground, Taunton

The ground was originally built as part of a sports centre by Taunton Athletic Club in 1881. 

It has a capacity of just 8,000 spectators, making it the ground with the least seating capacity in the World Cup. 


June 8 Afghanistan v New Zealand
June 12 Australia v Pakistan
June 17 West Indies v Bangladesh


Bristol County Ground, Bristol 

The ground, after reconstruction project in 2009, now includes a world-class media centre and conference facilities for the broadcast of the World Cup. 

It has a capacity of 11,000 spectators.  


June 1 Afghanistan v Australia
June 7 Pakistan v Sri Lanka
June 11 Bangladesh v Sri Lanka


Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff 

Popularly known as the Sophia Gardens, the ground has a capacity of 15,200. It has been an international cricket venue since May 1999, when it played host to the 1999 Cricket World Cup match. 

June 1 New Zealand v Sri Lanka
June 4 Afghanistan v Sri Lanka
June 8 England v Bangladesh
June 15 South Africa v Afghanistan


Old Trafford, Manchester

With acapacity of 24,600, Old Trafford is England's second oldest Test venue and hosted the first Ashes Test in England, in July 1884, and two Cricket World Cup semi-finals.

It will host the first semi-final of the tournament on July 9.


June 16 India v Pakistan
June 18 England v Afghanistan
June 22 West Indies v New Zealand
June 27 West Indies v India
July 6 Australia v South Africa
July 9 Semi-final 1 - Q1 v Q4