News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Akshay Kumar to Alia Bhatt: Bollywood actors who will not be voting in Lok Sabha Elections 2019

A few weeks before India went to vote, PM Narendra Modi had urged Bollywood celebrities to urge their fans to come out and vote. Top actors like Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Aamir Khan, Akshay Kumar and Ajay Devgn were tagged by PM Modi on Twitter to participate in this cause. New stars like Ranveer Singh, Varun Dhawan, Parineeti Chopra, Alia Bhatt and Vicky Kaushal were also asked by the PM to participate in this initiative. 

While most actors asked their followers to go and vote and exercise their rights- turns out some of them are not eligible themselves to vote. Here's a list of Bollywood actors who will not be able to cast their vote this election season. 

Akshay Kumar

Born in Delhi and now settled in Mumbai, Akshay Kumar is our new -age 'Bharat Kumar' who is associated to films based on nationalism or have social themes. But the actor will not be able to cast his vote as he holds a Canadian passport. 

(Photograph:Yogen Shah)

Deepika Padukone

The 'Padmavat' star was raised in Bengaluru but was born in Copenhagen, Denmark. Reportedly, the actress has a Danish passport which means she is not on the voter's list. 

(Photograph:WION Web Team)

Alia Bhatt

Bhatt may have urged her fans to vote this election season but the actress herself is not eligible to vote. Bhatt has a British passport much like her mother Soni Razdan. Until she gives up her British passport, Bhatt will not be able to vote in India. 

(Photograph:Yogen Shah)

Imran Khan

Actor and now filmmaker Imran Khan was born in America and holds an American passport. Which means he cannot cast his vote in India. If he gives up his American passport now, he will reportedly have to pay a hefty tax. 


Sunny Leone

Born as Karenjit Kaur, Sunny Leone belongs to Sikh family settled in Canada. The Indian-Canadian actress has a Canadian passport and is not eligible to vote in Lok Sabha elections 2019. 


Katrina Kaif

The actress is half Indian-half British and was born in the UK and holds a British passport. She may have made a career in Hindi films, but Katrina originally is from Britain and hence cannot vote in India.