AstraZeneca COVID vaccine: These countries have suspended its use so far

 | Updated: Mar 14, 2021, 09:47 PM IST

AstraZeneca's coronavirus vaccine has sent scare in a few European countries over fears of formation of blood clots after its administration. Although World Health Organisation (WHO) has said that use of the vaccine should not be stopped, several European countries have suspended use of the vaccine.


Denmark was the first country to suspend the use of AstraZeneca vaccine on March 11. Danish health authority has said that the suspension will remain in effect for 14 days



Just hours after Denmark's announcement, Norway said it was putting a pause on use of the vaccine.



Bulgaria joined the list of the countries on March 12



Thailand followed suit on the same day (March 12). It became first Asian country to do so



Ireland's health ministry spokesperson told AFP on Sunday (March 14) that the country was "temporarily" deferring use of AstraZeneca vaccine.


Piedmont in Italy

Italy's northern region of Piedmont said on Sunday (March 14) said it would temporarily suspend AstraZeneca coronavirus shots after a teacher from the town of Biella died following his vaccination on Saturday.