Lok Sabha polls: NDA releases list of candidates for Bihar, Ravi Shankar Prasad replaces Shatrughan Sinha in Patna Sahib seat

Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad (File photo) Photograph:( Zee News Network )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 23, 2019, 11.41 AM (IST)

The National Democratic Alliance on Saturday released its list for 39 out of the total 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. The Bharatiya Janata Party, which will contest the general polls in Bihar in alliance with Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) and Ram Vilas Paswan-led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), will contest 17 seats.  

According to reports, the JD(U) will also fight on 17 seats while 6 seats go to the LPJ. 

Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad will contest from Shatrughan Sinha's Patna Sahib seat.


BJP's party in-charge for Bihar, Bhupendra Yadav announced that Lok Janshakti Party's Chandan Kumar will contest from Nawada. LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan's son, Chirag Paswan, is fielded from Jamui seat while his brother Ram Vilas Paswan's brother Pashupati Kumar Paras to contest from Hajipur

Besides this, Ramkirpal Yadav will contest from Patliputra, RK Singh from Arrah, Aswani Choubey from Buxar, Radha Mohan Singh from East Champaran, Rajiv Pratap Rudy from Saran, Yadav stated.

Meanwhile, former Chhattisgarh chief minister and BJP leader Dr Raman Singh on Saturday said that a meeting of the Bharatiya Janata Party's central election committee will be held later in the day today, news agency ANI reported. 

Singh said that the leaders are likely to take a final call on 6 Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh, following which the names of the candidates will be declared.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released a list of 36 candidates for Lok Sabha polls in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Maharashtra and Odisha ahead of the general elections.

The party has fielded Girish Bapat from Pune (Maharashtra), its national spokesperson Sambit Patra from Puri (Odisha), Dilip Kumar Kilaru from Vijayawada (Andhra Pradesh), Bharati Pawar from Dindori (Maharashtra) and Sanbor Shullai from Shillong (Meghalaya).

The decision was taken after a meeting of the Central Election Committee of the BJP in New Delhi. The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj among others.

Story highlights

According to reports, the BJP will contest 17 seats, JD(U) will fight on 17 seats while 6 seats go to LPJ.